chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Geofrey's family
access_time 3 days ago
Geofrey enrolled.
"I have the burden of providing for my family while I do not have an income. Casual jobs that I depend on are so hard to come by and mostly I get KES. 100 which can buy food only and yet we have so many other needs like clothing also. Farming is no longer dependable because the weather has drastically changed in the past 10 years, crop diseases also have come and this has impacted so badly on our economic conditions."
Jumwa's family
access_time 3 days ago
Jumwa enrolled.
"My house is small and lacks enough space to host my family and friends. I have always wanted to own a bed but I would not know where to fix one even if I had the money to buy it. It has been two years since my husband built it. We used to live in the same house with my cowife but there was a need for us to live in separate houses. I will use the transfer to expand one side of the house and build a room where I can put a bed because I intend to buy one. The rest of the space I can use when I have visitors and family visiting."
Fancy's family
access_time 3 days ago
Fancy enrolled.
"The lack of a better source of income is my major challenge because the casual jobs that I do around my home allow me to buy sugar and maize flour only. I am unable to save any money or vend pay school free for my children comfortably."
Mirriam's family
access_time 3 days ago
Mirriam enrolled.
"The major challenge that I am currently facing is financial constraints. I do casual jobs and make ropes to get money to buy food for my children. The jobs are hard to get and the pay is little (KES 200) on a good day that goes into buying food for my children. I cannot save any of the money and have to rely on my husband to give me money that I will save in a merry-go-round that I am in."
Festus's family
access_time 3 days ago
Festus enrolled.
"Financial instability is my biggest challenge currently. I got married two years ago immediately I dropped out of school. I had not stabilized any source of income then. I immediately picked family responsibilities which require a lot of money. Though, I actively engage in casual jobs and farming my wages go directly to various daily needs. This makes me live a hand-to-mouth life. I do not have a hope of getting any stable source of income."
Linah's family
access_time 3 days ago
Linah enrolled.
"Financial constraint is my current challenge. I depend on both casual jobs and subsistence farming to earn a living. I spend approximately KES 450 on my daily household needs. This is too expensive for me given that I rely on unreliable sources. I earn an average of KES 150 on my casual job which is not enough to meet our needs ."
Tabutany's family
access_time 3 days ago
Tabutany enrolled.
"Food insecurity is my current challenge. Though I have a piece of land, my age and lack of finance has given me a challenge to cultivate it making it less productive. I yearly have food shortage in my household due to less production."
Charles's family
access_time 3 days ago
Charles enrolled.
"My wife and I were not lucky to pursue our education beyond the primary level. We do not have formal jobs thus we rely on unpredictable casual jobs in the village to earn a living. I had been practicing livestock broking but this was adversely affected by Coronavirus since our markets were closed. Currently, earning a living is so hard with no formal jobs. The lack of good sources of income is my current challenge."
Edwin's family
access_time 3 days ago
Edwin enrolled.
"Unemployment is the main challenge I am currently facing. Since I graduated last year in June, I thought I will be employed and enjoy life. Contrary to my expectation, I have been struggling to sustain my small family of 3 through casual labor. I work as an assistant veterinarian to a well-known vet in the area earning an average wage of 300 a day. This amount does not relate to what I expected as my future income and the job itself is hard to come by. I feel sad that I have been unable to secure a well-paying job after graduating."
Judy's family
access_time 3 days ago
Judy enrolled.
"Financial constraints act as the key challenge that we are facing as a family. Since the only cow that we own is currently not lactating and our crops have been destroyed by prolonged droughts, getting funds for our sustenance has proven to be a tough task. As a result, we are struggling to get food and raise school fees for our children who are pursuing their basic education."