GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Kevin's family
access_time almost 5 years ago
Kevin received a $23 eighth payment.
"My life will change because I will have started a small scale business that will generate some income and sustain my family going into the future."
Esther's family
access_time almost 5 years ago
Esther received a $253 second payment.
"My life will have changed because I will have a dairy cow that will earn me an income. I will use this to meet my daily needs as it will guarantee me an income throughout the year."
Joyce's family
access_time almost 5 years ago
Joyce received a $545 initial payment.
"The moment I received my transfer I felt very happy and immediately woke up. I thought I was the only one but heared people ululuating in hapiness."
Antony's family
access_time almost 5 years ago
Antony received a $526 second payment.
"The biggest difference in my life is that I have cows of my own and that I have paid school fees for my children."
Rosemary's family
access_time almost 5 years ago
Rosemary received a $23 eighth payment.
"In the next six months, I expect to have plastered my house, this will make me more proud."
Onesmus's family
access_time almost 5 years ago
Onesmus enrolled.
"My top concern is unemployment because due to employment leads to crime in society because youths are idle and with maturity they have to take care of themselves hence they will start doing crime second concern is police violence because police always suspect every youth group to be gangster hence they will harass and biting everyone in community thirdly is sexual violence, I have witnessed several cases in my community that leads to unwanted pregnancy, it has never been a good feeling seeing a child asking mother about dad whereabouts."
Lilian's family
access_time almost 5 years ago
Lilian enrolled.
"I wake up prepare my children to go to school,i do my house chores and prepare to leave for work. Later after work i go back home, help my children with their home work, prepare supper for them, wash their clothes and rest afterwards. In my free time i sleep and spend sometime with my children"
Mary's family
access_time almost 5 years ago
Mary enrolled.
"I wake up in the morning I prepare my children for school then prepare my self then I join my friends who sit down waiting for a customer whom we wash clothes for, but it depends if I will be lucky to get someone who I will wash clothes for in that particular day. I then come back to my house and wait for my children to come back home from school. In my free time I enjoy listening to music and watching TV at home."
Dickson's family
access_time almost 5 years ago
Dickson enrolled.
"I usually do casual jobs mainly water distribution to various households in my area that I sell to them using handcart/mkokoteni,thats where my main income comes from. While in my free time I do relax in the house or watch movies. At times I go for football games in Depo Thika Road."
Jesca's family
access_time almost 5 years ago
Jesca enrolled.
"My main concern is always about rent.This always make me even unable to eat since the landlord at times locks for as the door. Secondly my concern is always about my children school fees .Most of the times they are sent back for school fees or tattered uniform and I am unable to provide for them. Last but not list is about meeting my family daily needs like food. My income is s very low and my husband too does casual labor and doesn't have stable income so at times getting even food is a problem to us especially now that I don't go for business due to my two-weeks child. "