chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Winnie's Profile
Winnie's family
Winnie
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Hairdressing
faceAge:
19
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Winnie's next check-in.
 
10th Payment
Transfer Amount
2280 KES ($22 USD)
access_time 3 days ago
attach_money
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
Now that we have a larger house which we recently constructed, we felt that the house was slightly empty because the furniture we had before now occupies just a little section of the living room. For this reason, we decided to buy one more table and two seats to occupy the space.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
We are planning to plaster our house so we have agreed to combine our transfers henceforth and buy the required materials such as sand and cement and complete the project before the transfers are over. We just recently constructed the house with the help of the transfers that we have been receiving from Give Directly and we want to make the best out of the rest of our transfers so that when the project is over, we will have something to be proud of.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
I am a member of a table banking group where we make monthly savings, but because I work as a hairdresser, I mostly earn very little that is usually just enough for my needs which makes it hard to make my payments on time. With the help of these transfers, I have managed to pay for the monthly contributions in time and without failure and at the same time managing to take care of my family's needs without difficulties.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
My wish is that the entire house will have been plastered in the next six months so that when the project ends, will we have something to be proud of having achieved with our transfers. I know that when the project ends, it will be tough making enough saving to buy the required materials to plaster the house, so we need to do all we can to complete the plastering before then.
 
7th Payment
Transfer Amount
4560 KES ($45 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
I was able to save some of my previous transfers which enabled me to buy extra seats in my house and now we have enough chairs for my family and my children don't have to sit on the floor as they did before, especially during mealtime. I have also managed to enrol for a course in hairdressing which I would not have managed to take without GD transfers.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
We have plans of plastering our current mud house to make it more durable, presentable and easy to maintain. My husband and I have agreed that we will be combining our transfers for the next few months so that we can be able to buy the necessary materials for the plastering before the project is over.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
Because I have no source of income, I mostly depended on my husband in the past for household and personal needs which made it impossible to make plans of my own or buy what I needed at my own time. These transfers have allowed me to be helpful to my family as I am also able to assist in buying the household requirements and also given me the independence to buy my own needs without having to request for money from my husband. Being independent has brought much peace between my husband and I as we no longer argue over monetary issues.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
Completing plastering my entire house will be the best thing to happen to my family and I. I hope that we will have accomplished that in the next six months so that I can relax knowing that I spent GD transfers on something worthwhile even long after the project is over.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
4560 KES ($45 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I stay with my niece who is a total orphan. She depends on me as the only aunt who is alive. Paying her schools has been a major challenge given that I do not have a stable job. Ever since I started receiving my transfer there has been a very huge difference, I have comfortably paid her school fees and even had extra money to purchase a ram for rearing.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months, I am hopeful that I will have beautified my house by plastering the floor that currently looks pathetic with portals all over and my niece will no longer be sent home for school fees for I will have paid upfront.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from how it was before I started receiving my transfers. This is because paying school fees has become so much easy since I started receiving transfers unlike before I had to work two jobs that were not even paying so well to be able to sustain my household and pay my niece's school fees as well.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I currently do not have any new goals apart from what I had previously that is to purchase a ram for rearing and being able to save towards my niece's school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 1 year ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is, lack of finance that I can use to buy more equipment to modernise my salon to attract more customers.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is,in the afternoon when I am in my business place serving my customers because at the end I will make some money.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on, upgrading my skills on hairdressing so that I can plait all the styles since most of my customers require various modern styles. This will enable me handle more customers in future than the number I currently handle hence more income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is, that I have been able to save some money through table banking in our women group, that enabled me to purchase equipment for hairdressing.