chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Kennedy's Profile
Kennedy's family
Kennedy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Street trading - food (self-employed)
faceAge:
23
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Kennedy's next check-in.
 
8th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($48 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different because before GiveDirectly came, I depended on the casual jobs which mostly were not reliable, and I was getting little income from it but currently, I am in the business of selling roasted maize in town which I earn a profit of Ksh. 700 on a good day. With this profit, then I am able to cater for my basic needs as well saving some amount. Also, the transfer has helped me in paying my house rent, because before then I could struggle and even defaulting for some months.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I have the skills in plumbing and welding, however, I have not been able to secure an opportunity to work. Thus my new goal, for now, is to save enough money that will enable me to acquire my own tools to work with.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent KSh 2400 of my most recent transfer to pay for my house rent and electricity bill. I am now at peace having cleared these expenses. In addition, to this, I am currently in the business of selling roasted maize in town. I spent Ksh. 1000 to buy enough stock of maize for sale. I also spent a portion of the remaining transfer to cover for my household needs and saved KES 500 for my future use.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($50 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My ultimate plan is to venture into a welding business and use the proceeds to buy a piece of land back at home where I can build a home for my family. This will give me so much peace and joy in my heart.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference is that currently, I have little worries even on the days that I fail to make enough money for bills in the house, this is because I am certain that I will receive transfers from GD and I can plan well with them to sustain me for a longer period.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Upon receiving my recent transfer, I used some amount to pay my rent that had accrued due to lack of money to pay the rent on time. I also bought a bed and also did a little household shopping to sustain me through another week or so. This was of great assistance, without the cash I would have been locked out by my landlord since his patience had run out.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
The moment I received the recent transfer, I was very happy because I knew finally, I was going to settle my rent arrears and would have some peace while in the house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 11 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I will spend my transfers to expand my roasted maize business. I sell roasted maize for a living. I will spend my transfers to add more maize to my business. Secondly, I will spend my transfers to buy plumbing and welding tools that I can use to employ myself later on. I have training in plumbing and welding but I have never practiced because I do v6 the tools. Finally, I will spend my transfers to pay my rent.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is HIV and AIDS. I am concerned about HIV because I have seen the struggle that people undergo with the disease. This includes adherence to the medication, together with the general health and diet consciousness that follows with it. I have seen my friends and peers go through difficult times of taking these medication with no money to sustain their daily needs, such as healthy meals. My second concern is crime and violence as criminals do harm or even kill their victims. My last concern is family, in terms of disobeying parents. When parents are disobeyed, they feel bad. I would not want to be the reason that my parents feel sad.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambitions are own a large Supermarket in a town like Mombasa. I also hope to have 2 more supermarkets; one in Mathare, and the other one in my rural home in Muhoroni. I like Mombasa because of the nice beaches that are there and the cool ambience. I also feel the market in Mombasa has not yet been tapped fully, for a business like a supermarket.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
My usual day begins at 4:30AM when I wake up, and get ready to go to Marikiti market to buy raw maize for my business. I arrive back home at 6:30 AM and head to the spot where I usually roast my maize. This is at Bondeni road, along Mathare 3A village. I roast and sell maize till I complete all my stock for the day. This is usually around 3:00 PM for most days. I then head back to the house to rest. I take a nap up to around 7:00 PM when I wake up to look for supper. I prepare and have dinner and then I head to my aunt's shop still in Mathare 3A, to assist her cook any remainder of 'chapatis' that she might have for the day. From there, I head back to my house to rest for the night. In my free time, I enjoy listening to bongo music and some traditional luo music. I also enjoy to spend time with my friends.