chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Obadiah's Profile
Obadiah's family
Obadiah
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Street trading - non-food (self-employed)
faceAge:
29
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Obadiah's next check-in.
 
8th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($48 USD)
access_time 1 month ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life is different from how it was in that, I am able to take care of my needs easily. I have learned the art of budget well and prioritizing what to take care of first like paying rent. I feel relieved since I started receiving the money because I do not take loans from friends and relatives unlike before where I was forced to because the little that I could get from my business was not enough to take care of my daily needs.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to start saving. I want to buy a motorcycle because I have done research and found out that this business is a good one because people have to move from one place to another and they like a faster means of transport. Currently, I hawk in the town but the business is not doing so well. I normally sell shirts but I want a stable business where I can be assured of getting enough money by the end of the day.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the whole of my transfer to renovate my house. I had started building a house using the previous transfers but there were some places that needed replacements. Currently, I stay with my aunt with my family. After the work is done I will be able to move to my own house. I will enjoy a lot of privacy which is limited at my aunty's place.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($50 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goal is to become more independent and secure more plots and put up more rental units. This will in return generate more income which I can use to support my parents, and family with ease, unlike the hustle that I have gone through of manual tiresome works to make little income.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference is that I have moved from a mere person to now a landlord. I am guaranteed an income from the unit every single month. With this, I can save and even add more units. My life will never remain the same.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I did spend the recent transfer to facilitate the construction of a rental unit. I had a piece of land but I could not invest because I did not have adequate resources to put up a structure. Upon adding my savings to the amount I received I managed to put up a rental room. Though it's not complete, I am happy that it is no longer a dream but an implemented idea.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
The moment I received this transfer, I bowed down and gave thanks to the Almighty for I knew that my plans were going to actualize.
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
This money will help me in paying for my rent on time and to clear some of my rent arrears. Paying for rent has always been a burden to me given that my income is very low and unpredictable. Secondly I will use this money to pay for my children school fees and ensure they are not sent back home for school fees each time. I will also use this money to boost my business and advance from hawking to start up a permanent trading place where I will stock clothes.
Describe your biggest worry.
My most troubling worry is always about poverty that mostly results from joblessness in the society. Many people including my family at times we do lack enough food and getting other basic needs due to unemployment. I also do worry about health issues especially sickness in the family since when one fall sick then the all family is affected. Lack of peace in the community due to violence or post poll chaos also gives me a lot of worry since after each election in my area there has to be violence cases.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to prosper in life and have a better lifestyle for me and my family so that as a family we may have a conducive environment. I would like to give back to the community by mentoring young youths and children to ensure that they get good lifestyle and avoid things like drug abuse and addiction.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
In my usual day I do go for my hustles especially to town and do hawking from around 1:pm up to at night. While at times I do boda boda transportation business on casual basis. While at my free time I do relax with my friends at our usual base and at times I do go watching football.