chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Humphrey's Profile
Humphrey's family
Humphrey
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Construction (works for others)
faceAge:
24
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Humphrey's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($366 USD)
access_time 26 days ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different in that I have acquired some of the items that I did mot have in the past, for example the sofa sets that I bought using my transfer. I no longer struggle to pay rent and buy food since I used my transfer to pay rent for three months and also bought food which will last me for two months. Thanks Give Directly for the cash transfers.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to start a new business where I sell second hand clothes and shoes. I will use my third transfer to start this business. This will be a regular source of income to meet my basic needs since currently I depend on casual jobs and the money I get is little and for a long time I have been struggling to meet my basic needs such as food. At times I could go the whole day without food when I did not get money to buy food.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used my most recent transfer to buy sofa set since for a long time I have longing to have the seats but I have never got the money to buy. I used to depend on casual jobs and the money I got was little and could not meet all my basic needs. I also bought clothes and shoes because the ones I had was old and worn out. I also used the remaining amount to repay loan which I had borrowed from Tala and bought food since I did not have enough food in my house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($200 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to boost my cloth business. This has been my source of income which has supported me and my family. I would still want to invest in it because it will be able to sustain my life from the profits. If I have a good stock, I will be able to get a good income to handle all my financial needs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I have a new mattress. I have been sleeping on a mattress which has been more like a mat. It has been very old and weary and I have been having sleepless nights due to it. Right now, I feel very happy and whenever I feel sleepy, I don't get worried about the condition of my mattress. I thank GD for bringing this big change in my life.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my first transfer on paying my college fees. Last year I registered for carpentry training. I used part of the transfer to pay for half of the total fees required so that I may be able to start classes as I wait to clear the balance with the next transfer. Part of the transfers I also sent to my mother as a token of KES 5000 for her upkeep and the remaining part I used on buying household items such as food and a new mattress which I really needed. I used to sleep on a thin and very old one.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I could not believe my eyes. I had to re-read the message thrice and check my Mpesa balance twice to confirm that for a fact I had received money from GD. It was a moment of joy for me.
 
Enrolled
access_time 5 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority is to go back to school and have a course as a mason. I work on construction sites and I would want to acquire masonry skills because its marketable due to devolution in our country and infrastructural developments in county governments. I will also open a hardware shop in my neighborhood because there is none. The demand of equipments for construction is high and is profitable. I will also furnish my house because the furniture's I have are old and worn out.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is unemployment because I will be unable to cater for my basic needs that includes paying rent or have food on the table. I will be unable to have proper medical if my health is compromised and this can result to being a burden to my family.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I would want to be a foreman in construction sites. This makes me happy to see a complete building that i have been able to see it through. It is well paying and can help sustain my needs to live a good life.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
My usual day starts early in the morning at 6:00am when I wake up. My work depends on the previous day if I am informed about work in any site by friends. If there is work I leave my house in the morning and return back in the evening at 7:00pm. I visit my friends where we have a public toilet as a group and find what has happened in the neighborhood. I have supper in a nearby kiosk then go back to my house at 8:00pm then I retire to bed. When I am not in work, I sell water in the public toilet we run as a group. In my free time I love watching movies or watching football as I support my favorite team Arsenal in a nearby video entertainment or listening to music.