chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Judith's Profile
Judith's family
Judith
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
33
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Judith's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 30000 KES of my first lumpsum transfer on a sofa set, 14000 KES on a cow, I paid school fees for my 2 children with 3000 KES and we spent the remaining 300 KES on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am now living with hopes just like any other person since I have acquired more wealth in courtesy of GD- livestock that I expect to give birth to more young ones and which I can sell to get more money when trapped in a financial problem.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5500 KES of my token payment on primary school fees and uniforms for my children then I spent 2000 KES of it on 4 chicken and the remaining 2500 KES on a sack of maize.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
My main house is pathetic and therefore I am planning to plaster it with cement and sand using my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay school fees for my children, repair my house and start a small business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am most proud of is having bought a cow.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is that my husband is away most of the time and thus I have to take care of my four biological children and two orphans that I have adopted.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is when I am able to get up in the morning and get some casual labor work.