chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Benta's Profile
Benta's family
Benta
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
31
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($475 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying a cow.I aslo paid school fees,bought an ox plough,clothes and utensils.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of buying a motorcycle which I can use to get money to educate my children.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have my own cows and an oxe plough for ploughing.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on buying a cow.I also expanded my house and plastered it.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I no longer plaster my house with mud because I put cement.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the entire transfer to cement a portion of the wall(my house wall)
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to buy a motorbike for business purpose(transportation).
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to buy motorbike to help generate income and also bring goods which I sale to get money. Secondly l would wish to expand my and as well plaster my house. Finally l would like to educate my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that we have struggled to build iron roofed house because I used to stay in grass thatched house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is poor source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the afternoon when Givedirectly staff visited my house more so when I was given a phone knowing that I am going to achieve my dreams.