chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Molly's Profile
Molly's family
Molly
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
41
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Molly's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying 2 goats and a set of chairs.I also paid a debt of 13,000 KES,paid school fees and food for my family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have chairs which I sit on now.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a mattress. Purchased a sack of grains. I settled some debts with a portion of the remaining amount while the rest I spent on family foodstuffs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to replace my roofing with new iron sheets because it is old and leaking. I've an intention of cementing the floor of my house because it is earth and demand frequent repairs. I'm also planning to buy some animals.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to rebuild my house,buy household furniture and build a kitchen for myself.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement was when a bought a bed and a mattress for myself after sleeping on mats for a long time
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is seeing my children drop out of school and I can't do much to keep them in school since I have no source of income
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is when I get money and am able to provide a proper meal for my children