chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Domtila's Profile
Domtila's family
Domtila
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
52
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Domtila's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought iron sheets and bedding. I paid my daughter's school fees. I also spent on my son's medication when he mysteriously fell ill.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that my daughter is currently learning uninterrupted rather than being sent sent home for fees, after I settled her school fees.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000KES school fees, and spent 3,000KES to rent and plough a piece of land for farming. I have also spent 3,000KES on visiting my sick son who was drugged by thieves in hospital.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to pay school fees for my daughter who is seating for her final secondary exams this year. My house is in very poor condition, I therefore hope to buy ironsheet and build an iron roofed house. I also hope to take care of my sick son and meet his medical expenses. I also hope to help my other son to build a house because he has no income, and buy cattle for keeping.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a house for my son and buy some livestock.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievements that I am proudest are buying my son a welding machine, building my house together with my late spouse and buying goats all from the earnings I got from picking tea in Nandi Hills.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of a steady source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is when I work in my farm in the morning or evening.