chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Peter's Profile
Peter's family
Peter
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
39
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Peter's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the lumpsum to buy a bull cow (27000 KES), rented a piece of land (6000 KES) clothes, shoes, a sack of maize and other foodstuffs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference is that I never used to have clothes but now my family and I dress nicely. I can also use my bull cow to tilt my rented piece of land. These has changed my social and financial status.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I purchased a goat at 1,500 KES and paid 6,000 KES school fees. I spent 2,000 KES on my wife's medication and 500 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to settle my daughter's school fees arrears and to buy bulls and clothes for the family.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Use this money to pay school fees for our daughter who should be joining form 3 next (2016) year at Kosele mixed secondary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that i'm proudest of is having improved my housing facility.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship i have faced in my life is that sometimes back we had nothing to eat this truly subjected me to famine with my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I can offer an opportunity for my daughter to go to school.