chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
17
homeHousehold Size:
2
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 30,000 KES to pay secondary school fees for my sibling in form one. We spent 5,000 KES to buy a lorry of sand, two steel windows at 4,500 KES, a wooden door at 3,500 KES, a suitcase at 2,200 KES and 850 KES to buy a blanket.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was living in a house with a leaking roof and dilapidated walls where water destroyed some of my belongings when it rained . I managed to buy new iron sheets and cement and windows that has enabled me now to live in a house with proper ventilation and good security and I can comfortably store my belongings.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a matress with 4,500KES and a goat with 3,000KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet, timber and nails, and build an iron roofed house. I also plan to buy some household items
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to buy some cows and also to equip our house with some households.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that i'm proudest of is being independent in our house and happily staying together.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship i have faced is that sometimes I and my family go without eating anything due to lack of food.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I have peaceful co-existence with my neighbours.