chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Dorcas's Profile
Dorcas's family
Dorcas
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
52
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($476 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought furniture for 4500 KES, iron sheets 9000 KES, timber and poles 3000 KES, build my son a house with 5000 KES, paid school fees 1500 KES, sheep 3000 KES, treated my child with 2000 KES,5000 KES for grocery business and the rest on buying daily food.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of extending my house and pay dowry to my daughter in law.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I used to beg utensils and furniture when I had visitors but I am glad I have bought mine. I am now a business woman too and get income for other needs.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($492 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on starting a grocery business.I also catered for my grandson's funeral.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that is that I have a daily income from my business.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to buy cushions, bought cooking utensils, and also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to enlarge my house, buy a cow, and also to expand my foodstuff business I run.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to repair my house, I plan to buy livestock, boost my business, and shop for household items that lack
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My greatest achievement in my life was educating one of my children among the 8 to form four level
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of income to sustain my large family
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is praying when I wake up.