chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Reuben's Profile
Reuben's family
Reuben
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
65
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Reuben's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I admitted my daughter to secondary school at a cost of 25,000 KES. I bought building materials. I also spent on farming.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I've been living in a small house, but now I'm certain I will build a spacious house since I've already acquired building materials. Besides, I currently possess proper bedding unlike before.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l bought six iron sheets , l also bought bedding , l bought school uniform and food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to pay school fee , build a house and l also plan to do farming.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to use part of transfer to pay school fees. We also plan to extend the size of our house to accommodate our family. We will use the remaining the balance to start a business that will help our family in future.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that make us proud is that despite living under hardship conditions, we have managed to build iron roofed house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in my life is lack of enough food to support my family so we have been seriously affected by hunger.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am able to provide the evening meal for my children.