GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 10000 KES on school fees, 4400 KES on 2 mattresses, 10000 KES on M-Kopa solar light, 4200 KES on cushions and the rest clothes and other household items.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now have solar light therefore no longer spends a lot of money on kerosene and my children can also study at night.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought furniture with a portion of the transfer while the rest I spent on my daughter's medication.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement my house with a portion of the transfer while the rest I'll use to pay fees to my three children in high school.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to use the transfer to renovate my house and also buy furniture. I also plan to build a house for my son. I also plan to use the remaining balance to start a small business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that makes me proud is that I have managed to raise my kids despite the fact that am poor.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I have a big family that overwhelms my effort to provide for their basic needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I get a surprise gift from a friend or a relative.