chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Helena's Profile
Helena's family
Helena
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
69
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Helena's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on plastering my house.I also built a kitchen and added capital to my clothes business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a toilet know.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid medical bills for my grand child and my daughter in law. The rest of the money was used to buy food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I would like to pay school fees for my grand children.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use part of this transfer for agriculture. I also plan to start a small business for my son. I also plan to use the remaining balance to buy food.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proud of is that I have managed to take care of nine orphans who I have been supporting despite the fact that I am a widow.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that I have faced in my life is that of poor health. I have been sickling and at times I have become bedridden therefore not able to provide food for my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up alive and with the energy to work in my garden.