GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Evaline's Profile
Evaline's family
Small business
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Evaline's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used Kshs. 8000 to pay school fees while Kshs. 2000 I used to expand my fishing business
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have managed to pay school fees for my children. I am also hopping to build my house
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a larger portion of the transfer to pay fee to my son in secondary school. I also invested the rest in fish business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new house because my current house is in bad condition. I'm also planning to settle some fee arrears for my son in high school.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to inject more capital into my small business, I usually sell fish and I would like to be able to buy and sell larger quantities. The rest of the money I will use to buy iron sheets, timber, cement, nails, sand and also to pay workers who will use the materials to build me a house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having struggled and saved the profits from my small business and managed to educate my daughter who is in secondary school and now she is going to finish form four this year.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have right now is no steady source of income, this is because there are times there are no fish to sell and I end up using the capital from my small business to cater for my family's basic needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday when I am from the lake with fish to sell, it makes me very happy to have fish to sell because I am sure that I will be able to put food on the table for my family.