GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Betty's Profile
Betty's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Betty's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on paying my tithe at 5000KES,bought iron sheets and nails at 23,000KES,building poles at 4,500KES, transportation for carrying building materials at 4000 KES, 1 sack of maize at 3,000 and I have remained with a balance 14,000 of which I will use to construct my semi permanent house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I acquired building materials have started earning respect from other villagers who thought that I would never move from my small house which is always flooded since I stay next to river Sondu Miriu.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the transfer to purchase family foodstuffs and other household items.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a spacious iron roofed house because my current house is too old. I'm also planning to cement both walls and floor of the house which I'll build.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan build a new house and to buy cattle.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is building this house. Most of my life i lived in town and didn't have a house here at home.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is lack of a sustainable income source.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I do house chores.