GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Lilian's Profile
Lilian's family
Small business
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Lilian's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 22,000 KES to buy seats and 4,000 KES on a table. I spent 2,000 KES to dig up a pit hole for a latrine; 5,000 KES on rice farming, business capital at 5,000 KES and 10,000 KES on clearing school fees balance.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am able to consistently take my children to school and they have had improvement in performance and I my shame of staying at home with them due to lack of school fees has been lifted.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the entire transfer to pay fee to my son in high school.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to pay fees to my son with a portion of the transfer. I'm also planning to repair my house because it is in bad position while the remaining portion I'll invest in livestock.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use the first transfer to build a toilet, the second transfer I will use to inject some capital into my small business and also buy two oxen to be used to help when tilling my farm. The third transfer I will put into a fixed deposit account so that I can get some interest to help in the future.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having saved the profits from my small business and managed to buy some bricks that I will use to build a house, I am also currently educating my son who is in secondary school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of a sustainable source of income. l sell fruits, mainly pawpaws and watermelons, these are mainly seasonal and when they are not in season I really struggle to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part my day is in the morning because the Lord has blessed me and given me a chance to live another day.