GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Margaret's Profile
Margaret's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Margaret's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 33000 kshs to buy 2 cows and 1 goat to pay dowry, the remaining balance l spend 4200 kshs to pay school fees, l also bought uniforms at a cost of 1100 kshs the rest of the money l spend to buy 2 sacks of maize.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My social life has really change because l could not imagine that my husband could pay dowry to my family members.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought sheep @ 2,200KES, and spent 1,000KES on utensils, 2000KES for school fees, 2,000 capital for fish and vegetable retailing business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I have been married for many years yet my husband has been unable to raise enough money to pay my dowry. I therefore hope to spend the money on paying my dowry.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy a goat to rear, some chairs for my house and start a small business, the business will involve selling fast moving consumer goods.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having had a grocery store and I was able to save my profits. I then used the money to buy household items.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of a steady source of income, thus paying school fees for my children is a great problem.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday, this is because I usually cook lunch and I love cooking so this activity really makes me happy.