GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Esther's Profile
Esther's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying a cow at 17,000 KES,solar and it's battery at 13,000 KES,television at 13,000 KES,1 sack of maize at 3,000 KES ,a goat at 2,300 and food.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of starting a small business.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have solar which I use for lighting and I no longer buy paraffin.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I renovated the floor of my main house with 12000 KES, I spent 12000 KES on 3 sheep, 5000 KES on 16 cushions, 1000 KES on a blanket, 1500 KES on cushion covers, and I saved the remaining 22500 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
GD has increased my self worth economically and this is the biggest difference I can mention. I have invested in sheep farming which has formed parts of my assets and wealth.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a bed Ksh 3,000 and matress for Ksh 3000 and school fees Ksh 3,000.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to start a kiosk business and the rest of the money on buying household items like seats.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy a bed, mattress and cushions for my chairs. The rest of the transfers I will use to start a small business, the business will involve buying and selling of free range chicken.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having worked in various farms and saved my earnings I was then able to buy some livestock.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I currently face is that my health is not very good thus I cannot work as much as I used to, this means my income has diminished.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am together with my family, this is because we talk about our experiences for the day and also thank the Lord for taking care of us.