GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Dorothy's Profile
Dorothy's family
Dorothy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
36
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Dorothy's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 10000 kshs to pay school fees for my son in high school, l also spend the transfer to build for my children house so l bought sandy soil at 6000 kshs, 20 iron-sheets at 10000 kshs, poles at 8000 kshs, l also use 3500 kshs to pay labor, l bought 2 sacks of maize at 4000 kshs the remaining a mount l spend to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My children were sleeping with me in the same house and my house was very small but now they have a place to sleep in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000KES for school fees, sppent 2,000KES on buying dry maize, and 2,000KES on burial expenses for my uncle.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to build a bedroom for my children, and buy 2 oxen for ploughing my piece of land. I also hope to start a business in making and selling school uniform.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to build a separate house where the kids can sleep, they are all grown up. I also plan to pay school fees. And finally to boost my tailoring business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is this far we've come as a family. When we got married we didn't even have a house, everything we own now has come out of our farming activities. I proud because my husband stayed faithful and supportive.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face now is the burden of school fees. My eldest child is in secondary school and I have a couple more in primary school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening, especially when everyone is healthy and we had a good day.