chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Regina's Profile
Regina's family
Regina
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
66
homeHousehold Size:
2
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Regina's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 44,000KES on buying cement, sand and paid a mason to cement the floor and walls of my house. I also bought a set of seats @5,500KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have a chest problem and the dust from the floor used to affect me. I have also been able to control the termites that were damaging my walls by cementing. I feel more at ease now.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent larger amount of the transfer to buy two goats and l also bought food for the family
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to repair my house , l also plan to buy household items .
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to expand and plaster my house. Finally l would wish to the rest of the transfer in buying food because I not have any source of income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l worked hard and bought my household items.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is my health conditions which has been affecting me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when singing in choir with my fellow church members.