chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Grace's Profile
Grace's family
Grace
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
57
homeHousehold Size:
2
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Grace's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought cement at 8,000 KES, sand at 8,000 KES, two steel windows at 5,000 KES, a steel door at 8,000 KES and labour cost 11,000 KES. I bought water at 2,000 KES for construction work.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My house is under repair and it is now strong and looking much better than it was previously. I am now assured of the security of my family and property.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 3,000KES on buying cushions, and bought a sheep @ 2,000KES. I also paid 3,000KES on paying college fees for my child, and spent 2,000KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy cement and cement the floor and walls of my house to give it a good finish.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to plaster my house and replace my with steel door. Secondly l would wish to buy sheep because it is easy to manage . Lastly I would like to open up a business to generate income to support my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that is that l have struggled and bought my on chairs.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of money to sustain my life.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when working in my farm.