chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Eunice's Profile
Eunice's family
Eunice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
32
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Eunice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on building an iron roofed house.I also paid a SILK loan of 6000 KES,paid school fees for my children,bought 1 sack if maize and a set of chairs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a spacious 3 roomed house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent transfer on buying school uniform and bought a goat.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to build a house, and pay school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying furniture for our house, we will pay my dowry, we will also pay school fees for our children and build a bigger house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I am paying school fees for my children and also buying them school uniform using the money I get from the casual jobs I do.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I find it difficult to get food that I can provide for my family on a daily basis with regard to the kind of jobs I do which pay very little.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to do casual work for people like tilling their farm in the morning I know that in the evening I will have money to buy food for my family.