chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > John's Profile
John's family
John
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
44
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent the entire second transfer to pay dowry.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of buying a piece of land for building rental houses.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I was living in a thatched house but now I have build an iron roof house. I have a difference because I am not very poor like I was before receiving transfers.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the cash to build a house so l bought building materials such as 30 iron-sheets at 720 kshs each, poles at 7000 kshs , nails at 2640 kshs, 3 windows at 9000 kshs, 2 steel doors at 12000 kshs , labor 2800 kshs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l am now in a very comfortable house since l had a very small thatcher house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I topped up some money and built a house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to hold a dowry payment ceremony for my wife and spend the other part on maize and green gram farming.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build my own house. Secondly l would wish to pay dowry to parents inlaw to appreciate them. Finally l would like to pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l struggled to educate my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of money to pay dowry to parents inlaw.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when working in the farm.