chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Naomi's Profile
Naomi's family
Naomi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
20
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Naomi's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a wooden door at 3,500 KES, a lorry of clay soil at 3,500 KES, paid 4,000 KES labour charge, used 500 KES on food for the workers, bought a cow at 15,000 KES, a wooden bed at 4,000 KES, mattress at 3,700 KES, a wooden table at 2,500 KES, a sofaset at 8,000 KES, used 3,000 KES to boost my egg business, a sack of maize at 2,300 KES after using my own money on withdrawal.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now getting good money than before because my business is now larger.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4000 KES on a sack of maize, 3000 KES on a lorry of murram and we settled our debts with the remaining 3000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am not having a piece of land and therefore I will buy one and settle down with the whole of my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying a piece of land as we don't have our own because the one we stay in is for our father, we will also buy a motorcycle that we will use in transport business to earn a living and start also a small business of selling clothes. I will spend the remaining amount in buying furniture for our house and complete building our house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that we have been able to save some cash from our business of selling eggs which enabled us to build our house that we are now staying in.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that we in our life is getting food to eat as we don't have a farm that we can plant our crops so we are forced to buy food to eat.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when we get money from our business of selling eggs in the evening, I am happy knowing that we have something to buy food.