chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Grace's Profile
Grace's family
Grace
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
43
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Grace's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my transfer on school fees (10000) and built a new house (40000).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now have a big house and we are more comfortable. I also had school fees burden but it has been settled and my child can stay in school peacefully.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought chairs with a larger portion of the transfer. I also paid fee to my son in high school.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new spacious iron roofed house with a portion of the transfer because my current house is too small while the rest I'll pay my son in high school fee.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a bigger house as the one I stay in is very small and the remaining amount I will use it to pay for school fees for my children who are in secondary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have been able to do my small business of selling fish till I was able to buy a goat that I has also given birth to several goats that I keep.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that school fees for my children has increased and my income source is not stable to accommodate the increase in fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I have all my family members in my house at lunch time and we are having a meal.