chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Daniel's Profile
Daniel's family
Daniel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
House construction
faceAge:
58
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Daniel's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the transfer to plaster my house so l bought 12 bags of cements at 9000 kshs, sand at 8000 kshs, l spend 5000 kshs to pay for labor, l also spend 12000 kshs to buy iron-sheets, l also bought 2 windows at 5000 kshs, l spend 2000 kshs to pay school fees for my child in school, l gave my wife 2000 kshs to add into her business , l also spend 2000 kshs to weed, l bought 1 sack of maize at 2000 kshs the remaining balance l spend to buy foodstuffs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has really change because wife now has improve her business and we now get our daily income.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 7,000KES for school fees, and spent 1,700KES on buying cement for cementing the floor of my house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to cement floor and walls of my house. I also plan to buy ironsheet and timber and build an iron roofed house for my son. We also want to increase capital for my wife's vegetable selling business.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on repairing my house as it in a bad state, I will spend part of it to take my child to secondary school by paying for her school fees and spend part of in buying a bull and an oxen driven plough for ploughing my farm. I will also spend part of it on renting a piece of land for farming as I have a small piece of land.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I once built a very beautiful house for someone as a mason.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that getting school fees for my children as my income is not stable and my kids can be sent home for fees when I don't have it.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to my farm in the morning to plough it and my crops are doing well,I am happy to know that I will have a good harvest.