chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Pamela
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
33
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I repaired my house with around 20000 KES, paid school fees 9700 KES, debt 1500 KES and spent the rest on buying food.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes, I have developed my grocery business.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different because I currently feed my family well and we have a better house than what we were living in before receiving transfers.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the transfer to plaster my house so l bought 11 bags of cement at 8800 kshs, sand 8000 kshs, l also spend 5000 kshs to pay for labor, l spend 5000 kshs to pay debt, l also spend 2500 kshs to buy 1 sack of maize the remaining balance l spend to buy foodstuff.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l am now staying in a nice plastered comfortable house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid a total of 7,500 KSH school fees for my child.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to clear fee arrears and buy a cow.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to rebuild my house which is about to fall and I will also pay school fees for my children
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement was buying the furniture in my house since I had no chairs but now I do.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is educating my children since I don't have the resources
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I have something to eat.