chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > John's Profile
John's family
John
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
39
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on John's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought matress at Kshs. 2850, I made birth certificate at Kshs. 1200, I used Kshs. 600 on transportation while Kshs. 5700 I pent on buying grains
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now own a phone. I also leaving in a good house. I have also paid school fees
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to buy a mattress. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new spacious iron roofed house because my current house is too small. I'm also planning to invest the remaining amount in retail shop business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to buy some iron sheets and expand my house since it's small.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement has been farming since my family always has food to eat.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship has been we have to educate our children and we don't have the resources.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when God blesses us with something to eat.