chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Millicent's Profile
Millicent's family
Millicent
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
20
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Millicent's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on building an iron roofed house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a spacious house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent a portion of it on 10 pieces of iron sheets while the remaining amount was used to purchase 20 tins of maize grains for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a spacious iron roofed house with the better part of the transfer while the remaining amount I'll use to purchase furniture.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planing to built an iron roof house since the one we have right now is thatched and leaks during rainy seasons.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of was when I was able to save some cash while working as a house help and managed to buy household items like furniture.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have got to face is being sickly more often together with my children, we just got admitted in an hospital recently.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is during morning hours when I am able to visit my small garden and cultivate expecting some farm yields when the harvest season comes.