chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Dorothy's Profile
Dorothy's family
Dorothy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
33
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Dorothy's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 25000 KES of the first lumpsum on plastering my house, built a latrine at 8000 KES, paid school fee balance of 15000 KES and used the rest of the money on buying food for the family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Previously I didn't have a latrine so we could release ourselves in the bush but thanks to GD we now have a latrine.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token on paying a debt i borrowed to clear school fees (5000), a goat (2100) and food (2700).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to repair my house walls and build a pit latrine.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a toilet as we currently don't have any,I will spend part of the transfer on buying fifteen bags of cement that I will use in renovating my house and raising its level above the ground so that the rains that usually start during April do not flood my house as it does currently, I will also spend part of the transfer on buying two bulls and a ploughing machine that I will use in ploughing my farm and the remaining amount I will spend on paying school fees for my two kids who are in secondary school and the other two who are in primary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I used to stay in a grass thatched house but I managed to save some cash by denying myself and my family the luxury of eating good food like meat so that I saved some money which I used to build the house that I currently stay in which is has iron sheet roof. The money that I saved came from my business of selling vegetable in the local market.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is in terms of school fees for my kids as my income is very low and my kid has been sent home because she has not paid Ksh. 375 of which I am not able to raise at the moment. My husband also went back to school so that he can finish secondary school so I am left to serve as the breadwinner for the entire family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I get cash from our saving and lending scheme and I buy for my kids fish for supper as it is their favorite food,this makes me happy as I prepare for them the food in the evening when I am back from the market.