chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Zachary's Profile
Zachary's family
Zachary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
54
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Zachary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to build a house for my elder son (25000), built a pit latrine (10000), paid fee for my son (7600), invested in stone mining (5000) and i still have (2000) in my account for food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I built a house for my son and now he can sleep well and do his reading peacefully after school. I have a pit latrine and my business is doing well.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 7,000KES school fee for my children in secondary and primary schools then used 2,000KES to weed my farm,
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to extend my house with two more rooms, cement the floor and walls then use the rest to
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan yo spend the transfer to pay school fee for my son who is in high school. I also plan to spend the transfer to expand my house to accommodate my family. I also plan to spend the transfer to build a pit latrine. I also plan to spend part of the transfer to invest in my quarrying site. I mine building stones.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have strived so hard and managed to build a house for my family. I was able to do this from the little income that I get from quarrying.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is when my wife passed on and left me with me children to take care of. Life hasn't been easy for me because I have to perform other motherly duties.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when am in my mining site. I make building stones which is a source of living to my family.