chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Grace's Profile
Grace's family
Grace
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
83
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Grace's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I repaired my sofa set seats at 1,000KES, plowed my farm at 3,000KES, used 1,000KES to plant and weed my farm
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I want to buy three cows.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on renovating my house so that it can be in a better condition as the floor is having cracks,I will spend part of the transfer on buying four bulls that I can use in ploughing my farm and the remaining amount I can use in buying food that I can feed my grandchildren as I have one who is mentally challenged and depends on me for his basic needs.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I am always hardworking and at my age I am still ploughing my farm so that I can feed my family without depending on others.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that during dry seasons like in the month of February, getting food is a challenge and because I am not able to dig my farm and this makes me go may be a day without a meal.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to my farm in the morning to plough it,I feel happy when my crops are doing well and I can harvest them so that I can feed my family.