<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Lydia's Profile
Lydia's family
Lydia
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
37
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Lydia's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer, I renovated my main house at a total cost of 30000 KES, I paid secondary and primary school fees for my children with 10000 KES, I settled my outstanding debts with 5000 KES and I spent the remaining 5000 KES on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have a big difference in my daily since I am now living in a clean and a good looking environment after I renovated my main house in courtesy of GD, this has boosted my self-esteem and confidence with which I interact with the rest of the village members and my guests.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 5,000 KES to pay school fees (secondary school) for one child and 3,600 KES for two children in primary school and the rest on daily household expenses.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to complete payment of school fees , to construct a pit latrine and also do repairs on my house and plastering.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to pay school fees for our child who is joining secondary school this year and the rest of the transfers we will use to start a small business dealing in second hand clothes
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having started a business, I used to sell rice in bulk and from the profits I was able to buy household items like utensils and furniture for my house
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face currently is lack of enough money to pay school fees for my children, I am currently out of work and my husband, who is the sole breadwinner, often gets very little money from his motorcycle taxi.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning, this is because I am grateful for the Lord for blessing my family with life for another day.