<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
42
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a semi-permanent house of 27 irons sheets with 26000 KES , 17000 KES on a sofa set, 3500 KES on a mattress, 1500 KES on a suit case and the remaining 2000 KES on 8 cushions.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am now having a more spacious house that can accommodate all my household members and my belongings and everyone withing it have gained his/ her privacy the biggest difference and happiness in our daily lives.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought iron sheets 6000 KES, a sack of maize 2800 KES and the remaining payment I spent of food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a house with the upcoming lampsum transfer.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to iron sheets for my roof, cement and sand to be used to repair my house, I will also buy household furniture as currently I have none.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement that I can think of is having built my house, I managed to do this by saving profits that I was able to get when I used to sell maize.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack any proper jobs in this village, this make it difficult for me to feed and clothe my seven children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning because I am able to praise the Lord and am very sure that he will bless me with some work.