<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Pamelah's Profile
Pamelah's family
Pamelah
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
32
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Pamelah's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 18 bags of cement at 13,600 KES, a lorry of sand at 3,000 KES, paid 14,000 KES labourg charge, I enrolled for the ECD course at 18,000 KES, used 700 KES on food for workers then paid 400 KES school fee for my three children in nursery and primary schools.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now attending a course that I've always yearned for since I cleared my high school education ten years ago.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a mattress at 4000 KES, a cupboard at 5000 KES and I paid primary school fees for children using the remaining 1000 KES of the token payment.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
When I get my upcoming payment, I will build a better house and enroll in a college with the remaining amount of my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy cement and sand so that I can plaster my house. The second transfer I will use to pay fees for a certificate course in early childhood education at a nearby college and build a toilet. The third transfer I will save for my child who is in class eight so that if she is supposed to join secondary school next year I will have fees for her.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having started a small business which has enabled me purchase household items and furniture by saving the profits.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face right now is that my husband currently has no source of income and thus I am the only breadwinner, this makes it difficult to take care of my family's basic needs and also pay school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning, because that is when I go to work at the early childhood education center where I work, it makes me happy when I see all my students are alive, well and eager to learn.