GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Justina's Profile
Justina's family
Justina
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
71
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Justina's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the first lumpsum in constructing both toilet and bathroom at 28000 KES, bought a cow at 10000 KES and used the rest of the money on buying food for the family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am at peace and comfortable because I now own a toilet so I do not have to use bush as a latrine.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid secondary school fees using 5000 KES of my token payment and the remaining 5000 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will educate my grandson, buy an oxen and renovate my main house with my upcoming token payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for my grandchildren who are in college and high school. I also plan to use the transfer to start a business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to build a house for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is when my children died and left me with grandchildren who are orphans. It has been difficult to get enough food to sustain my family and also to pay their school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when am in my farm weeding.