GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Dorine's Profile
Dorine's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Dorine's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid my children's 26,000 KES school fees. I used 10,000 KES to revive my cereal business. I saved the rest of the money for buying a cow.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I'm currently independent as I do business to earn a living.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 4,000 KES fee to my daughter in high school. Paid 5,000 KES fee to my son in collage. I also bought some household items with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to pay my two children in collage and secondary school fee. I'm also planning to invest the rest in cereal business.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for my children in high school and college. I also plan to spend the transfer to expand my house to accommodate my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to pay school fees for one of my children up to college level.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is when I was involved in a road accident and injured my limb. It later became difficult for me to do the initial business which I used to do. Therefore I couldn't make as much income as before and so my son had to defer his degree program until now due to lack of fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the evening when I manage to get food for my children.