chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Mourine's Profile
Mourine's family
Mourine
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
26
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mourine's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying 30 pieces of iron sheets ksh 21000, 40 poles ksh 12200,nails ksh 4000, fisher board ksh 1420, 7 windows ksh 8000 and labor ksh 3000.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen in my life is that i am now in a good spacious house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a matress @ 3,500KES, paid 3,000KES for school fees. I also bought clothes with 2,500KES for my children and I.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet, timber, and nails, and build an iron roofed house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a house in our new piece of land that we will buy using the transfer, we will buy a new motorcycle for our taxi business because the one we are currently using is a hired one and I will start a new business o
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that initially we used to stay in a grass thatched house and through our motorcycle taxi business we were able to build a house with iron sheet roofing.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that we face in our life is that my husband has been going to college while doing his motorcycle taxi business so most of the money was going towards paying school fees so not much was left for food for the family. This made it diffic
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when we are having breakfast as a family. This makes me happy as we are able talk to one another and wish each other a wonderful day.