chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Caleb's Profile
Caleb's family
Caleb
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
51
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Caleb's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to build a house (23000), paid primary and secondary school fees (20000) and bought food (7000).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I afforded to build a house for my children and paid their full school fees and they are learning with ease. I will also use upcoming lump-sum to build a pit latrine.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 5,000KES on buying cushions, and 2,100KES on buying text books to replace the ones lost by my child in secondary school.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to sink and construct a pit latrine in my compound.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a toilet with the first transfer. The other transfers we will use to buy household items, build my children a small bedroom and plaster my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievements that I am proudest of are having educated my son up to secondary school level, paid dowry for my wife and taken care of some of my siblings.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face currently is lack of a steady source of income and the high cost of living.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the evening if I get some income after a hard days work.