chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > James's Profile
James's family
James
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
60
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on James's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 iron sheets at 20,000 KES, round poles at 15,000 KES, wall poles at 4,500 KES, gutters at 2,100 KES, transport cost me 5,000 KES, nails at 3,000 KES and labour cost me 4,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been able to build a bigger house which is spacious enough for my family and our belongings. Previously some of my belongings used to be left outside.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the money on buying 1cow@7,000KES and used it as dowry for my wife who had been held by her parents. I have now brought her back home.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to invest it on a stone selling business. We will be shaping the stones used for building houses.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to start a small retail shop.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is having educated my children up to secondary school level and now they are all doing casual jobs. I am also proud of having married a second wife after the death of my first wife.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is when my first wife died. This is because she left me with three children and I had to take care of them all by myself.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday. This is because I usually have lunch and then I can relax with my family.