chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Kennedy's Profile
Kennedy's family
Kennedy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Kennedy's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 7 bags of cement at 5,950KES, paid 7,000KES labor charge, bought 9 sheep at 23,900KES, one goat at 3,500KES, wire mess at 2,700KES, 12 second hand iron sheets at 5,000KES then added some amount to the remaining cash and bought shoes and clothes for the family then paid school for three children.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now able to tackle challenges as they come now that I have settled all the debts that I had.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 5 sheep for keeping with the entire transfer.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy at least 2 oxen for ploughing my farm.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy oxen, which will assist me when am ploughing my farm. Some part of the money will be used to add more stocks in my small shop, I will also buy cement and sand which I will use to plaster my house
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having struggled and saved proceeds from my farm produce then used the money to purchase a piece of land and put up a shop.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face right now is lack of enough money to increase the stocks in my shop, this means that I get less profits and ultimately less income with which I can take care of my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the morning when I wake feeling fine and well, this means that I can work in my farm or shop and get some income to feed my family.