chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Caroline's Profile
Caroline's family
Caroline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
31
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Caroline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 25 ironsheets at 15,000 KES, wall poles at 6,500 KES, roofing poles at 3,000 KES, paid 4,000 KES labor charge, 10,000 KES school fees for my step-son then bought gas cooker at 12,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now using clean energy by using a gas cooker and it's faster.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
Increase stock for my business. I sell second hand shoes.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
My house is in poor condition, I therefore plan to buy cement, and cement the floor and walls of my house. I also plan to buy a metal door and replace it with the wooden door.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to spend our transfer on paying school fees,improving our current house and finally use part of it to buy household items.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement we are proudest of is having been able to teach one of the orphan child we stay with to reach polytechnic school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we are currently facing is on making ends meet when our source of income is unstable. We also have orphans that we take care of and this does not make it easier.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is during the morning when I visit my vegetable farm to cultivate, this I sell in our local market to get some little income to sustain the family.