chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rael's Profile
Rael's family
Rael
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rael's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 20,000KES on school fees for my child in secondary school, and spent 5,000KES on clothes for my children and us. I also used 20,000KES to boost my firewood and charcoal business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am now earning more from my charcoal business due tyo increased stock, and I do not worry so much about school fees like before.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 6000 on school fee, 2000 on paying debt and 2000 on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to expand my house, pay school fees and buy household food.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to pay school fees for our children. Secondly l would wish to buy oxen for ploughing my farm to improve on production. Finally l would like to expand my house because my house is very small to accommodate my family
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l struggled and bought two goats of my own.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is finding school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the is when having lunch with my family.