chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Lukas's Profile
Lukas's family
Lukas
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Lukas's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my first transfer to build a new house (30000), bought chairs (9500), a radio (1200), chimney lamp (750), a bag of maize (3000), clothes and shoes (5300).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I had a very small house and it was a shame as a family man, now i have a 3 roomed house that is spacious and accommodates us well. I also managed to buy other household effects that i did not have.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying a wooden door, & a mattress. I spent the remaining 2,000KES on buying food for our daily consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lump-sum payment on expanding my small house to be a bit spacious.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to buy some dairy cows that can produce milk for consumption.We are also planning to plaster our house so that it looks nice.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I moved from a grass thatched house to a more spacious iron roofed house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we've faced is inadequate farm produce that we can use for consumption.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening after finishing my work and I am paid my daily wage.