chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Denis's Profile
Denis's family
Denis
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Denis's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($492 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer, I constructed a semi-permanent house of 33 iron sheets with 40000 KES, I paid primary school fees for my 2 children with 5000 KES and I spent the remaining 5000 KES on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Initially, I was the odd one out in our village since I was living in a leaking grass-thatched house, which was frowned upon by the rest of the community members, however, when I got transfers and built an iron-roofed house, I managed to be of the same level and trend with them and I am no longer facing any kind of ostracization, the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 10 iron sheets at 6,500 KES, medical bill for my sick child cost me 2,000 KES and funeral expense of a relative took 1,000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy more construction materials and construct a house , am currently living in a small grass thatched house and also buy a cow.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build iron roofed house because my house is leaking. Secondly l would wish to open up a business to generate income to support my family. Finally l would like to use the rest of the money to buy oxen to help plo
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievements are that l have struggled and paid dowry to my parents inlaw and paid school fees for my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is that our farm has been washed away by rain leaving us with no source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when I able to provide food for my family.