GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Sheila's Profile
Sheila's family
Sheila
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
25
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Sheila's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 35000 KES of my first lumpsum payment on a fridge, 6000 KES on a mattress, 1000 KES on a mattress and the remaining 8000 KES on daily household needs like food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that GD has improved my daily income by enabling me acquire important equipment like refrigerator and coolers that can make me serve my customers fresh milk on a daily basis. Again I have acquired higher standards of living.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 8,000KES on buying 2 matresses, and 2,000KES on dry maize for consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
i plan to buy materials: ironsheet and timber, and extend my house to make it more spacious.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to start selling second hand clothes since it is the business I've always wanted to do but I've not been able to raise enough capital to initiate it.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proud that I moved from a single room house and managed to build a two roomed house that could accommodate my expanding family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship has been to live near a lake because wild animals destroys our crops hence causing food scarcity. I also live in fear of attack by wild animals.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My favorite part of the day is in the morning when I wake up and relax a bit as I plan how to start my daily activities.