GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Milka's Profile
Milka's family
Milka
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Milka's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought books for my daughter who was joining secondary school at Kshs. 8000. I used Kshs. 200 for transport costs while Kshs. 1800 I bought maize
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have managed to built my house house which is better than my old house. Have managed to cement my floors, putting up a steel door which is very strong and therefore I feel safe in my house
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought school uniform and books for my son who joined form one this year. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement the floor of my house and fix windowpanes. I'm also planning to buy some livestock for remembrance of GD.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to pay school fees for my daughter who is joining form one and l do not have enough money to take her to school. Secondly l would wish to do farming in large scale to generate more income. Lastly l would like to use the rest of the money to cement my house to avoid frequent maintance of the house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled to educate my children after the death of my husband.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest challenge in life is lack of money to pay school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the is in the morning when all my children are in good shape and are capable of going to school.